Blog

← Back to news feed

training opportunities - grow up, show up

Posted: June 7 2010

PASA has so many offerings for the aspiring agrarian.  Put them on your calendar!

June

Growing & Marketing Organic Vegetables
This event is held in partnership with Future Harvest - CASA
(Chesapeake Alliance for Sustainable Agriculture)

One Straw Farm
Whitehall, MD
Wednesday, June 16
The Art & Science of Quality Small Grains Production
Small Valley Milling
Halifax, Dauphin County
Thursday, June 17
Cattle in the Wilds: A Grazing Operation in Potter County
Ayers Hill Farm
Coudersport, Potter County
Wednesday, June 23

July

Managing Nutrients & Pests in Organic Cucurbit Production
Penn State High Tunnel Research & Education Facility (Gate H)
Pa Furnace, Center County
Thursday, July 8
Dogs Days of Summer: Incorporating Working Dogs on Your Farm
Steam Valley Fiber Farm
Trout Run, Lycoming County
Tuesday, July 13
Pastures and Greenhouses and IPM, Oh My! - Rising to the Challenges of a Diversified Farm
Heritage Farm

Ridgway, Elk County
Monday, July 19

August

INTENSIVE: Capturing Sunshine: Solar Energy on the Farm
Dickinson College Farm
Boiling Springs, Cumberland County
Thursday, August 5
3rd Annual PASA Grass-Fed Beef Challenge Cook-Off
Jamison Farm
Latrobe, Westmoreland County
Friday & Saturday, August 6-7
Restorative Farming at The Anthill: Embracing Abundance & Diversity on Your Farm
The Anthill Farm
Honesdale, Wayne County
Thursday, August 26

September

The Day-to-Day Realities of Grazing & Handling Sheep
Owens Farm
Sunbury, Northumberland County
Thursday, September 9
Sugar & 'Sang: Maple & Ginseng Husbandry on Your Forestlands
Saint Rose Academy School Auditorium
Mayfield, Lackawanna County
Saturday, September 11
Three Creameries & Their Strategies: Marketing Your Dairy Products
This event is held in partnership with Future Harvest - CASA
(Chesapeake Alliance for Sustainable Agriculture)

Keswick Creamery
Newberg, Clearfield County
Tuesday, September 28

October

Finding a Niche for Heritage Breeds: Preserving Heritage, History & Genes
This event is held in partnership with Future Harvest - CASA
(Chesapeake Alliance for Sustainable Agriculture)

Stonecroft Highlands
Petersburg, Huntingdon County
Wednesday, October 6
INTENSIVE: Home Cheesemaking: Hands-on Workshop for Beginners
Quiet Creek Herb Farm & School of Country Living
Brookville, Jefferson County
Friday, October 29 or Saturday, October 30

November

Revel in the Spirit of Sustainable Holiday Plants: A Certified Organic Greenhouse Operation
Peace Tree Farm
Kintnersville, Bucks County
Thursday, November 18

Categories:

Classes + Workshops